EVANSTON, Illinois –National Merit Scholarship Corp. on Sept. 12 released the names of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered in spring 2019.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. More than 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 410 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

Steps in the 2019 competition

More than 1.6 million juniors in about 22,000 high schools entered the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

To become a finalist, the semifinalist and his or her high school must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. A semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT® scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

From the approximately 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the Finalist level, and in February they will be notified of this designation. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.

National Merit Scholarships

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2019. Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit® $2,500 scholarships that will be awarded on a state-representational basis. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be provided by approximately 230 corporations and business organizations for finalists who meet their specified criteria, such as children of the grantor’s employees or residents of communities where sponsor plants or offices are located. In addition, about 180 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,000 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2019 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July. These scholarship recipients will join some 338,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.

The following Maine students are semifinalists:

Oliver E. Hall, Edward Little High School, Auburn; Alexander Farkas, Caleb Richardson, Cony High School, Augusta; Jack A. Prior, Noah B. Robinson, Henry R. Smiley, Bangor High School, Bangor; Brandon J. Aponte, Colby Haskell, Grace E. Kirkpatrick, Samuel T. Peterson, John Bapst Memorial High School, Bangor; Adam C. Christianson, Carolyn G. Graber, Mount Desert Island High School, Bar Harbor; William H. Weinstein, Gould Academy, Bethel; Lilley M. Harris, Boothbay Region High School, Boothbay Harbor; Calla R. Hladky, Brunswick High School, Brunswick; Hudson Christie, Cape Elizabeth High School, Cape Elizabeth; Luke Marsanskis, Edmund Paquin, Greely High School, Cumberland Center; John D. Auer, Kade J. Kelley, Liberty R. Ladd, Seiya Matsumoto, Falmouth High School, Falmouth; Paul L. Biberstein, Alec Eames, Margaret C. Perrotta, Freeport High School, Freeport; Charles R. Van West, Maine Coast Waldorf School, Freeport; Simon C. Roussel, Bruce H. Wyatt, Gorham High School, Gorham; Finn M. Gibson, Islesboro Central School, Islesboro; Jason A. Albaum, Mason G. Burke, Colby J. Ellis, Alice N. Hauser, Brandon Hauser, Ian M. Zogg, Kennebunk High School, Kennebunk; Ryan P. Fitzmaurice, George L. Johnson, Sawyer D. Lachance, Stefan J. Reis, Ethan T. Winters, Hannah M. Zimmerman, Maine School of Science and Mathematics, Limestone; Elijah B. McGill, Orono High School, Orono;

Elinor J. Tierney-Fife, Casco Bay High School for Expeditionary Learning, Portland; Aidan M. Thomas, Cheverus High School, Portland; Isabel H. Clayter, Lauren B. Paradise, Portland High School, Portland; Phoebe C. Hart, Waynflete School, Portland; Luke Bartol, Maranancook Community School, Readfield; Abraham R. LeMole, Oceanside High School, Rockland; Eleanor S. Lincoln, Augusta R. Stockman, Camden Hills Regional High School, Rockport; Andrea L. Giles, Sanford High School, Sanford; Riley A. Beliveau, Heather E. Markham, Eric C. Youth, Ian S. Youth, Scarborough High School, Scarborough; Kion E. Tupper, Searsport District High School, Searsport; Nikhil D. Agarwal, Elijah A. D’Aran, Samuel G. Faasen, Zachary D. Greenspan, Brett E. Starr, Berwick Academy, South Berwick; Liam Coomey, Nathan Kiesman, Noble Mushtak, Marshwood High School, South Berwick; Ian O. Farm, Max Saffer-Meng, South Portland High School, South Portland; Madeline J. Buswell, Sumner Memorial High School, Sullivan; Andrew J. Schaeffer, North Yarmouth Academy, Yarmouth; Wyatt R. Bates, Michael W. Guertler, Abigail M. VanLonkhuyzen, Yarmouth High School, Yarmouth; Marie N. Hamel, Ben H. Northrop, Ethan J. Sheive, York High School, York.

More information about the scholarship program is available at www.nationalmerit.org .